BIE Day Awards Ceremony: List of recipients announced

The BIE Day Awards Ceremony was held this evening, during which the recipients of the Expo 2017 Official Participant Awards were announced. Held on the eve of the closing of each Expo, the Awards Ceremony, which includes the attribution of BIE Medals and Certificates, celebrates all those who have made major contributions to the success of the event. 

An international jury composed of nine members visited each pavilion of the 115 countries and 22 international organisations participating in Expo 2017 Astana. Split into four different categories according to the size of the country’s participation, Official Participant Awards were granted either for Exhibition Design or for the development of the “Future Energy” theme.

A total of 24 gold, silver and bronze awards were handed out during the ceremony, which took place in the presence of the President of the General Assembly, Steen Christensen, and the Deputy Secretary General of the BIE, Dimitri Kerkentzes.

List of Expo 2017 Official Participant Awards

Among Type A pavilions (more than 700m2), Russia received the Gold Award for Exhibition Design. The Silver Award went to the United Kingdom, and Bronze went to the Republic of Korea.


For Theme Development, the Gold Award for Type A pavilions went to Germany. Silver was awarded to China, and Bronze was awarded to France.


Among Type B pavilions (between 400m2 and 700m2), Qatar was granted the Gold Award for Exhibition Design, with Azerbaijan receiving Silver and Monaco receiving Bronze.


For Theme Development, the Gold Award for Type B pavilions was given to Switzerland, with Hungary receiving Silver and India receiving Bronze.


For Type C pavilions (less than 400m2), the Gold Award for Exhibition Design was granted to Poland, with Silver going to Slovakia and Latvia taking Bronze.


For Theme Development among Category C pavilions, Finland received the Gold Award. Silver and Bronze were awarded to Singapore and the Czech Republic, respectively.


Among Category D pavilions (joint pavilions within the “plazas”), the Caribbean Community Plaza received the Gold Award for Exhibition Design. The Pacific Ocean Plaza received the Silver Award, and the Bronze Award was given to the Latin America Plaza.


For Theme Development, Tajikistan won the Gold Award within Category D pavilions. Ghana and Ukraine won silver and bronze, respectively.


An Honorable Mention was given to the International Organisation Joint Pavilion.


BIE Medals and Certificates

At the end of each Expo, the BIE awards medals and certificates of merit to organisations and individuals who have made extraordinary contributions to the success of the Expo.

The Gold Medal, the BIE’s highest honour, was awarded to the President of the Republic of Kazakhstan, Nursultan Nazerbayev in recognition of his personal engagement in bringing Expo 2017 to Astana and making it such a success. The award was accepted on his behalf by Chairman of the Board of Astana Expo 2017 NC Akhmetzan Yessimov. A Gold Medal was also given to the International Participants of Expo 2017 for their collective support and their spirit of cooperation and partnership. The award was received by Romas Jankauskas, Chairperson of the College of Commissioners and Steering Committee, Commissioner of Lithuania. 

The Astana Expo 2017 National Company, the organiser of the Expo, was awarded a BIE Medal of Honour in recognition of the dedication of its entire organising team in planning and executing the event, with Chairman Akhmetzan Yessimov receiving the award. The second Medal of Honour was awarded to the City of Astana for integrating the Expo into its strategic vision and day-to-day life, with Mayor Adilbek Zhaksybekov receiving the award. The third Medal of Honour was awarded to the Commissioner of Expo 2017, Rapil Zhoshybayev, for putting together a truly international Expo.

Certificates of Merit were awarded by the BIE to Expo 2017 Volunteers in recognition of their essential support to Organisers, Participants and visitors. The second Certificate was awarded to the Press and Media who covered Expo 2017, recognising their role in promoting and communicating the Expo.